Three days, 54 holes of golf and two winning teams at the top of the standings.

It’s the simplified story of the annual alternative shoot, scramble and four-ball tournament that drew 18 men’s and 10 women’s teams to Gardner Municipal from Friday to Sunday.

And when the final round ended with beautiful September weather, Tyler Piascik and Brett Krieger won the men’s flight, while Sharon Ialenti and Ann Twohig were crowned women’s champions.

“It’s a very popular tournament every year towards the end of the summer due to the different formats played each day,” said Dan Berry, GMGC Pro Shop manager, pleased with the participation of two-player teams. enthusiastic.

Playing golf very regularly, the Piascik-Krieger duo recorded below par rounds each day – 69 in the alternate stroke, 66 in the scrum and 69 in the final day four balls for a net low score of 54 holes of 191 .

“We played golf for three days,” said Krieger, 50, who grew up in Oak Harbor, Ohio, about two hours from the old great Jack Nicklaus’ playground in Columbus.

Where are they now ?: How did former Oakmont athlete Steve Swedberg golf with Jack Nicklaus, Arnold Palmer?

“At the end of the last lap, Brett really helped us get away,” said Piascik, 45, a former Gardner High star golfer in the mid-1990s. 13th hole, then made a 20-foot birdie in the 14th. After that, we parried all the way.

And finished with the low gross score as well, but, because the tournament was a net event, carried over to the team of Bill Wilson and John Stacy, who had a tremendous gross total of 206 and won that award.

More from Gearan on golf: Les Jaillets had much to celebrate during the Mixed Scotch tournament

Dick Lepkowski and Dan Bourque were second at net with 196, followed by Chip Bellio and Jim Muse, and Allen Goguen and Jack Flis with 199. Then came Jim Diamond and Dave Price at fifth net with 201.

Sharon Ialenti, left, and Ann Twohig were the low net scoring champions in this weekend's three-day alternative-format women's tournament at the Gardner Municipal Golf Course.

In the women’s division, it was a end-to-end victory for the talented side of Ialenti and Twohig, who rose to the top of the standings after day one and stayed there until the last putt on Sunday.

Ialenti and Twohig, frequent partners in state women’s events and invitations, posted a 214 for net honors, followed by finalists Anne M. LeBlanc and Ellen Courtemanche with 217.

More golf: These are the top four high school golfers in the Grand Gardner

Karen Deneen and Margaret Jaillet were third at net with 218, just one shot behind, and the lowest winners were GMGC Women’s Club Champion Mary Harris and Bonnie Stewart, who posted a 258.

Central mass. Senior visit

Division winners at last week’s stoppage at Cold Springs Country Club in Belchertown included Charlie Kuizinas, Mike Catallozzi, Glenn Surkont, Rene Cormier and Sharon DiPasquale.

And the coveted Senior Cup is played with a close race between the following leaders: Kuizinas, Dennis Lanciani, Dante Petrozzi, Jim DeCarolis and Jeff Albert.

The Jaillets did not win:GMGC Mixed Scotch tournament but still had reason to celebrate

Winning scores

Congratulations to the following GMGC Men’s Association winners at recent weekend events: Ryan Pasakinskas in the quota, followed by Ted Reynolds and Neil Erickson; Allen Goguen 71’s first net spot in the individual stroke play tournament and Maurice Fitzgerald’s second with a 72 goal; Dave Price was the big winner of the Treys Leaderboard event, followed by Lanciani and Skip Morrill; Dan Bourque in match play vs. field, tied for first with Joe Drouin and Pasakinskas; Roger Prevost, Piascik, Pasakinskas and Stan Meunier in a four-man tie for first place in the fillet skin event; and finally Mike Beaulieau and Ellis Noyes, as well as Larry Starnes and Chris Cormier, winning first place in the four-ball blind draw.

October Golf

The final day of the GMGC Men’s Association is set for Sunday, October 2 with a tournament of the best two ABCD balls, and the final day of the Gardner Women’s Golf Association is set for the same day with an ABCD Scramble format. The registration deadline for both events is Sunday, September 26 at 5 p.m.

Winchendon Flashback

It was August 1997 when the team of Mark Nardini and Jim DeCarolis won the first gross annual Member-Guest award at the Winchendon Country Club. Doc Mateik and Ralph Nichols came second, followed by Tony Pelchat and Dennis Dellasanta. Rick Marinelli Jr. and Pat Morin placed fourth.